ICC World Test Championship 2019–21 Points Table Updated: England Consolidate Fourth Position After Thrashing Sri Lanka by Seven Wickets in Galle

England have consolidated the fourth position in the ICC Test Championship table after defeating Sri Lanka by seven wickets in the first Test at the Galle International Stadium. Joe Root was adjudged the Player of the Match for scoring a magnificent double century. At the same time, Jack Leach and Dom Bess registered five-wicket hauls. Despite the loss, Sri Lanka continues to hold the seventh position. Scroll down below to check out the latest team standings. ICC Changes World Test Championship Points System.

This is the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship, which started on August 1 with England and Australia facing each other in the first game of a five-match Ashes Test series. The Championship features 9 of the 12 Test Playing Nations with new Test entrants Ireland and Afghanistan excluded from the competition. Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka and West Indies are the nine teams that will be participating in WTC. The nine teams together will compete in 71 Test matches across 27 series, which will be played over the next two years. Another member Zimbabwe has been suspended due to alleged corruption charges. ICC World Test Championship Schedule 2019-2021: List of Cricket Matches to Be Played Under WTC.

ICC World Test Championship 2019-2021 Points Table

Teams M W L T D N/R PTS PCT    (%)
Australia 13 8 3 0 2 0 322 73.7
India 12 8 3 0 1 0 390 70.2
New Zealand 11 7 4 0 0 0 420 70
England 16 9 4 0 3 0 352 65.2
South Africa 9 3 3 0 1 0 144 40
Pakistan 9 2 4 0 3 0 166 34.6
Sri Lanka 7 1 5 0 1 0 80 19.0
West Indies 7 1 6 0 0 0 40 11.1
Bangladesh 3 0 3 0 0 0 0 0.0

All nine teams were supposed to play at least one Test series against six of the other eight teams and each series will vary between two and five Test matches. Every team was scheduled to participate in six series each (three at home and three away series) but will not be playing the same number of matches. A side can accumulate a maximum of 120 points from a single bilateral series.  However, they have to now concentrate on the margin as well owing to the new grading system. Top two placed teams at the end of the league stage will contest in the final at Lord’s on June 2021. ICC Test Championship 2019–21 Final Could Be Postponed Amid Coronavirus Crisis.

As per the previous system, teams wouldn’t receive any  points for series victories but for Test match results. Points will be equally distributed in every series, regardless of the draws. Teams will, therefore, receive maximum points on winning a Test match, while there will be minimum points on dead rubbers. Points will also vary depending on the length of a series, an ICC statement said. In a five-match series, therefore, 20 percent of the points will be available each match, while in a two-match series, 50 percent of the points will be available.

For example, a two-match series will mean 60 points for each Test win, while a three-match series will give 40 points for each victory. Similarly, a four-match and five-match Test series will offer 30 and 24 points each for a Test win. A tie will be 50 percent of the points available, whilst a draw will be a 3:1 points ratio.

The World Test Championship is in line with ICC’s goal to have an elite premiership tournament for all three formats of international cricket. It was first proposed by the apex cricket in 2013 as a replacement for the ICC Champions Trophy but met dead ends in 2013 and 2017 before hitting the road this year. The ICC World Test Championship was officially launched on July 29, 2019, following the conclusion of the 2019 Cricket World Cup. The first Test Championship will run from 2019-2021, while the second will take place from July 2021 to June 2023.

(The above story first appeared on Reportr Door on Aug 26, 2020 04:41 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website reportrdoor.com).


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.