Sports News

Tamil Nadu Win Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Trophy 2021 Title, Beat Baroda by Seven Wickets

Tamil Nadu beat Baroda by seven wickets in the final to win the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2021 title. The Dinesh Karthik-led side chased down a 121-run target with two overs to spare to clinch their second Syed Mushtaq Ali title and first since the inaugural edition in 2006/07 when they beat Punjab. Manimaran Siddharth was the star with the ball in hand for Tamil Nadu and took 4/20 to help his side restrict Baroda to a low total. Nishanth then top-scored with the bat while Karthik (22 off 15) and Shahrukh Khan (18 from 7) played important cameos to lead Tamil Nadu to victory. Virat Kohli, Ravi Shastri, Sourav Ganguly Express Gratitude and Thank PM Narendra Modi for ‘Kind Words’ on Mann Ki Baat.

Earlier, opting to bowl first, Tamil Nadu restricted Baroda to 120/9 with their spinners running through the Baroda batting order. Manimaran Siddharth, playing his first match in the tournament, spun a web around the Baroda batsmen and took 4/20 in his four-over spell.

Baba Aparajith, Sonu Yadav and M Mohammed picked the other three wickets while there also two run-outs in the Baroda innings. Vishnu Solanki was the top scorer for Baroda with his 55-ball 49 runs knock powering Baroda to a respectable score.

(The above story first appeared on Reportr Door on Jan 31, 2021 10:31 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website


About the author


Add Comment

Click here to post a comment