Sports News

IPL controversy – Part 11: Kochi Tuskers Kerala ended in 2011

In 2011, the Indian Premier League added two new teams to its current roster of eight. One of these, Kochi Tuskers Kerala, was located outside Kochi. When he was out of the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Kochi, Tusker played two of his seven home matches at the Holkar Cricket Stadium in Indore. IPL Controversy – Part 7: Indi Commandos in Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

With Mahela Jayawardene as coach and Geoff Lawson as coach, Kochi had a tremendous team with Muttiah Muralitharan, Brendon McCullum, Ravindra Jadeja, RP Singh, S Sreesanth and VVS Laxman. Kochi won six of its 14 matches and finished eighth out of ten teams.

The Tuskers have been in controversy since the beginning. He had for some time considered Ahmedabad as an alternative domestic destination. The displeasure of a fan also prompted him to change his name from Indi Commandos. But the biggest of them happened after the tournament.IPL controversy – Part 9: Lalit Modi suspended in 2010.

Those tuskers were owned by a consortium. After clashes between the six organizations that formed the consortium, the Tuskers failed to pay the 10% bank guarantee they had agreed to pay to the IPL committee despite several reminders from the BCCI. The Tuskers were dropped from the IPL on October 14, 2011. By December, he was dissolved.

From the following year, only nine teams competed. Kochi cricketers were re-auctioned. In February 2012, Rendezvous Sports World, one of the parties of the Kochi consortium, sued the BCCI. In July 2015, the court asked BCCI to pay USD 77 million as compensation.

(The above story first appeared on April 16, 2021 04:50 PM IST. For more news and updates on politics, the world, sports, entertainment and lifestyle, log on to our website for the latest.)