September 22, 2023

Super Eagles coach, Jose Peseiro, has handed invitations to in-form Napoli and Atlanta of Italy strikers, Victor Osimhen and Ademola Lookman, team skipper, Ahmed Musa, and 18 others for a double-header 2024 AFCON Qualifiers against the Djurtus of Guinea Bissau on March 24, 2023, at the Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja.

The Portuguese tactician also extended an invitation to two bronze-winning Flying Eagles players to the just concluded AFCON U20 in Egypt, captain Daniel Bameyi and team goalkeeper Chijioke Aniagboso.

Leganes of Spain defender, Kenneth Omeruo made a return to the team while the duo of Wilfred Ndidi and Frank Onyeka, and Portugal-based defender Bruno Onyemaechi will slug it out with the likes of Semi Ajayi, Bright Osayi-Samuel, Kevin Akpoguma, and Calvin Bassey in the defence.

Also included are FC Porto of Portugal left-back, Zaidu Sanusi with regulars such as Everton’s Alex Iwobi, Joe Aribo, and Paul Onuachu both of Southampton. Others are Samuel Chukwueze, Moses Simon and Terem Moffi.

ALSO READ: UCL: Ancelotti reveals why Real Madrid beat Liverpool

Players are expected to start arriving at the team camp in Abuja on Sunday, 19th March 2023. The three-time African champions have garnered six points after beating Sierra Leone’s Lone Stars and Sao Tome and Principe in Match Day 1 and 2 respectively.

Egyptian referee, Mahmoud Elbana, will take charge in Abuja alongside his compatriots Youssef Elbosaty, Sami Halhal and Ahmed El-Ghandour as assistant referee 1, assistant referee 2, and fourth official respectively. CAF has also appointed Moroccan referees for the return leg in Bissau.

ALSO READ:Gift Orban sets Twitter on fire with three-minute hattrick for Gent in Conference League

Team list

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Victor Sochima (Rivers United); Kingsley Aniagboso (Giant Brillars)

Defenders: Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce SK, Turkey); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Calvin Bassey (FC Ajax, The Netherlands); Daniel Bameyi (YumYum FC); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Joe Aribo (Southampton, England)

Forwards: Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey); Samuel Chukwueze (Villarreal CF, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta BC, Italy); Terem Moffi (OGC Nice, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Paul Onuachu (Southampton FC, England).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *