December 10, 2023

Residents, community/political leaders and other public officials of Ifelodun LCDA, who has contributed to the development of the place, were honoured last Wednesday.

Among various awards, they were conferred newly installed traffic mayors of the Lagos State Transport Authority (LASTMA).

According to the Supervisor for Transport and Logistics of Ifelodun LCDA and Coordinator of Mile 2 Interchange from the Office of the Lagos State Traffic Management Authority (LASTMA), Alhaji Inaolaji Bamidele Daud (IBD) Shomotan, “The reason to award and install some individuals as traffic mayors within the community is to engage the elites and to inspire interest to ensure sanity on Lagos roads and to ensure free-flow of traffic everywhere.

“The choice of awardees is based on the fact of their positive impacts on the community and to ensure their continuous interest at contributing further to the development of the state as well as encouraging others to emulate them.”.

Among the list of prominent awardees were Prince Rabiu Adio Oluwa, former Executive Chairman of the old Ajeromi-Ifelodun Local Government, member of Governor Advisory  Council (GAC) and Leader of Badagry Division of the All Progressives’ Congress (APC), Dr. Abiola Ajijola, the first Executive Chairman of the old Ajeromi-Ifelodun Local Government, Hon. Olusegun Ogunbanjo, past  Local Government Area Party Chairman of the old Ajeromi-Ifelodun and two terms member of the National Assembly, Abuja as well as Hon. Taiwo Oyewole Adenekan, first Executive Chairman of Ifelodun LCDA and immediate past member of the National Assembly, Abuja.

The list also included the Executive Chairman of the LCDA, Hon. Olufemi Okeowo, who hosted the event, including his predecessor Hon. Shuaib Fatai Ajidagba.

According to Shomotan, “It is important to encourage and appreciate those who are involved in development of our community in order to promote sustainability and their continued involvement even after public office. That was why we thought it wise to also confer an award on the current council chair Okeowo for being a harbinger of peace and development who have used his tenure to unify the people and his predecessor Ajidagba, a man whose time in office witnessed unprecedented development for which Ifelodun LCDA will remember for a long time. “

Other awardees were Hon. Kolawole Musibau Taiwo (HKT), former Deputy Leader of the Lagos State House of Assembly and current member of the Federal House of Representatives, Abuja, Hon. Kalejaye Adeboye Paul (KAP), former Special Adviser to the Governor of Lagos State and APC candidate for House of Representatives, Abuja, in the 2023 election and the wife of Badagry Division Leader, Yeye Iretiola Oluwa; and the Chairman of the Lagos State Local Government Commission, Hon. Kamal Ayinde Bayewu; Hon. Lookman Sa’d Olumoh, member of the Lagos State House of Assembly (LAHA); the CEO of Lagos State Ferry Services, Hon. AbdulBaq Ladi-Balogun.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *