February 28, 2024
Bukayo Saka

Gareth Southgate has named his 26-man squad for England’s World Cup campaign with Conor Gallagher and Callum Wilson the shock picks.

The Three Lions gaffer has whittled down his 55-man provisional list to the special 26.

And there will be the traditional mix of euphoria and despair around the nation today.

England start their World Cup campaign against Iran on Monday, November 21 in Group B.

Next up is a clash against Gregg Berhalter’s US, with the mouth-watering clash against near-neighbours Wales the final game on November 29.

Harry Kane will once again spearhead Southgate’s troops looking to win his first ever competition trophy.

The Spurs man was the top scorer at the 2018 World Cup in Russia.

Jordan Pickford has never let anyone down for England, and he will be given the gloves in Qatar.
The much-maligned Harry Maguire might not have found much form for Manchester United this season, but he is one of Southgate’s favourites in the squad.

James Maddison’s inclusion is arguably the biggest talking point. He appears to have finally won over Southgate after his stunning form for Leicester dragged them off the bottom of the Premier League.

England’s 26-man squad


Jordan Pickford
Nick Pope
Aaron Ramsdale


Luke Shaw
John Stones
Eric Dier
Harry Maguire
Ben White
Conor Coady
Kyle Walker
Kieran Trippier
Trent Alexander-Arnold


Mason Mount
James Maddison
Conor Gallagher
Declan Rice
Jude Bellingham
Jordan Henderson
Kalvin Phillips


Harry Kane
Callum Wilson
Raheem Sterling
Jack Grealish
Phil Foden
Marcus Rashford
Bukayo Saka

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *