September 25, 2023

The 2022 FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World XI, unveiled at the FIFA Best Awards on Monday night, boasts a stellar lineup of attacking talent.

Featuring a stacked quartet of Lionel Messi, Kylian Mbappe, Karim Benzema, and Erling Haaland, the XI is loaded with world-class firepower.

Despite the attacking focus, only three defenders make the cut, with Thibaut Courtois in goal and Achraf Hakimi, Joao Cancelo, and Virgil van Dijk in front.

Courtois earned the goalkeeper spot after an outstanding year with Real Madrid, while the midfield trio of Kevin De Bruyne, Casemiro, and Luka Modric provide a sturdy foundation for the attacking stars.

ALSO READ: Messi, Martinez, Scaloni, fans complete clean sweep for Argentina at The Best FIFA Awards

The World Cup-winning Argentina team has only one representative in Messi, while Real Madrid’s Champions League triumph earns recognition for Courtois, Modric, Casemiro, and Benzema.

Cancelo and De Bruyne are rewarded for Manchester City’s Premier League title, while Haaland’s prolific scoring for both Borussia Dortmund and City sees him make the cut.

See the 2022 FIFPro World XI

Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid/Belgium)

Achraf Hakimi (PSG/Morocco)

Joao Cancelo (Bayern Munich/Portugal)

ALSO READ: Lionel Messi crowned The Best FIFA Men’s Player

Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool/The Netherlands)

Kevin De Bruyne (Man City/Belgium)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid/Croatia)

Casemiro (Real Madrid/Brazil)

Lionel Messi (PSG/Argentina)

Kylian Mbappe (PSG/France)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid/France)

Erling Haaland (Man City/Norway)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *